"Capturing Life"

Adjustments

There are times in life when you just have to be willing to adjust.  Maybe it’s adjusting to a new job, a new house, adding children to your life (yeah, that’s a big adjustment!) or even adjusting to the changing seasons.  The past couple of months have been a time of adjusting.

My mother had a bone fusion surgery on her ankle which requires several weeks of casting and no body weight on said ankle.  My brother, sister and I have become her assistants, alternating weeks at her home.  It’s become a time of weekly adjusting for me, being home one week and working to keep things running here then being with my mother the next week and making sure she’s behaving herself.  While it’s an honor to be able to give a little bit back to my mom, who gave so much of herself in raising my siblings and me, it does throw me off my routine and causes a bit of an “out of sorts” feeling in my life.

On the up side, it has provided some great time reconnecting with her and with some of my friends from my past.  It has also given me a lot of opportunities to enjoy views of Mt. Hood, which I have missed since moving from the area and where I learned to ski many years ago.

My 52 week challenge theme last week was “Favorite Snack.  I thought about it for the first few days of the week, trying to decide what is my favorite snack.  You see, when I was in my 20’s and earned money for my time (translated: I had a paying job and not a “mom job”) I worked in an office building that had a small snack bar.  I use to spend my afternoon breaks there with my friends, Sue and Deby, and every so often I would have my favorite snack of a diet soda and a small bag of Frito’s.  Once in awhile I’d add in my most delicious of snacks which were Double Chocolate Grandma Cookies.  The sun would shine in the window of the coffee shop and cause the cookies to get a little warm.  The chocolate chips wold melt just a little and they’d be the softest gooiest cookies around.  It makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

An adjustment I’ve made in my life since that time is to reduce the frequency with which I indulge in those most enjoyable of snacks.  Rarely do I eat Frito’s and even more rarely do I enjoy Grandma cookies.  I’m also not a frequent soda drinker but you may find one in my hand on occasion or you may find me popping one or two Pretzel M&M’s in my mouth, my newest flavor find compliments of my son.  These days, however, it’s more likely to be fruit, vegetables or popcorn if I’m having a snack.  This adjustment, while much healthier and helpful in the battle to control my weight, is not always a happy adjustment.  It’s a necessary one.  I hear people say things like “oh, I just love to eat fruit and vegetables” or “I just feel so much better since I stopped eating all those other BAD foods” but I have to be honest: I don’t love fruit and vegetables as much as Double Chocolate Grandma Cookies and I really don’t think I feel that much better without the “BAD” foods.  I just know it’s healthier and conducive to a better quality of life plus it sabotages my fitness goals if I eat too much of the “BAD” foods.

At the end of the day, there are positives in every adjustment in life.  You just have to be willing to look for them and enjoy them.

I will close with another recipe that is consistent with the adjustment to eating healthier.  I’ve commented before about Hungry Girl recipes and how inspirational they are.  One of my favorites is the Egg Mug recipes she uses.  I’ve been adapting them to my own tastes and this past week I created a new one for myself.  I thought I’d share my newest creation with you and maybe it will encourage you to realize that breakfast can be quick and easy, taste great and avoid a lot of fuss.

1 Egg (or 2 egg whites)

2 mushrooms, sliced

1/4 orange bell pepper, chopped

3 spinach leaves, chopped

1 wedge Laughing Cow Light Mozzarella Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Cheese, cut into small cubes

Spray a mug or 1 cup ramekin with cooking spray.  Layer mushrooms, bell pepper, spinach and cubed cheese in mug.  Add egg and gently stir to mix.  Microwave 1 1/2 minute on high, or until egg is set.

Serve with skewered banana and pineapple cubes, greek yogurt with fresh or frozen fruit mixed in, or my personal favorite, a small slice of Killer Dave’s Sin Dawg roll.

Now this is an easy start to the day!

One response

  1. Karen S.

    This sounds like something I’ll try. I made your Valentine Day chocolate-peanut butter cookies and shared them with my students and the ladies at Bible study–what a treat! And they were very easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipes!

    February 23, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

