"Capturing Life"

Portraits

My favorite type of photography is Portraits. I just plain love people, the intricacies of their personalities, the way each individual comes across in front of the camera, and trying to capture who they really are in each photo. It’s a challenge sometimes; I love challenges!

Nic is a guy who’s been around our family for several years now. I have a special place in my heart for him and for the rest of his family. It’s been so great to watch him grow and mature in life. I know he’s got a great future ahead of him.

Haley and Hannah are beautiful young women with great zest for life. Sister’s and close friends, Haley is a senior this year while Hannah still has a couple of years of high school ahead of her. They were game to do a few fun shots, like this one with the colorful umbrella.

There are so many components to portrait photography, as there is to many types of photography. I’m not an overly detailed person so the most frequent frustration of mine is remembering the small details. I’ve repeatedly photographed myself with my lens cap showing through my hip pocket. I notoriously have had plants, structures, and who knows what growing out of the back’s of people’s heads. I’m so focused on trying to capture the “real” person that I forget about the small things that turn into big things when the final photo is viewed.

Deborah was so fun to work with. She has a spunky side that came out as we were doing her portraits. She was willing to climb on her horse for some photo’s, climb on old rail cars, and pose just about any place we thought might be fun.
    

I have so much more to learn about lighting, posing, camera settings, and all the rest that at times it’s daunting to think about. I just want to aim my camera and capture what I see yet trying to do that is not as easy as it might seem. The technical aspects of photography and, in this case, portraits, can ruin the final product if I don’t take the time to develop them, hone my skills, and continue to educate myself about how to do it better.

Leave a comment